2013 Visible Award: wins Ahmet Ögüt. A public jury at the Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven on December 14th 2013

La Redazione,11/12/2013

2013 Visible Award public jury at the Van Abbemuseum Van Abbemuseum – Eindhoven, 14th December 2013   Visible is a project by Cittadellarte-Fondazione Pistoletto and Fondazione Zegna Curated by Matteo

2013 Visible Award
public jury at the Van Abbemuseum
Van Abbemuseum – Eindhoven, 14th December 2013
Visible is a project by Cittadellarte-Fondazione Pistoletto and Fondazione Zegna
Curated by Matteo Lucchetti and Judith Wielander
The winner of the 2013 Visibile Award 2013 is Ahmet Ögüt with "The Silent University".

2013 Visible Award: the jury as a public event
The 2013 Visible Award, on the occasion of its second edition, evolves its format, seeking an innovative approach that passes through a more transparent methodology around its jury session, which in this edition will take the form of a public event at the Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven, The Netherlands. 
The jury session will not only be a debate between experts, in order to select an exemplary socially engaged art project, but rather a moment for sharing knowledge and collective learning, that in the process of assessing the winning project, will hopefully create an opportunity to put at work the vast network of professionals existing around the Visible project, that so far connects 45 curators, over 200 artists and 30 independent art spaces across the globe.
Visible. On Display, Cittadellarte-Fondazione Pistoletto, from October 5th 2013
On the 14th of December 2013 a prestigious, interdisciplinary jury, chaired by Charles Esche and composed of a group of intellectuals operating in different fields of culture, will gather together in order to assess the merits of the artistic projects and select the winner of the 2013 Visible Award
The invited members of the jury are:
Tania Bruguera (artist, New York), Joseph Grima (architect, writer, former editor of Domus, Milan), Jeanne Van Heeswijk (artist, Rotterdam), Koyo Kouho (curator, Artistic Director of Raw Material Company, Dakar), Nikos Papastergiadis (contemporary social-cultural studies professor, Sydney) and Michelangelo Pistoletto (artist, Artistic Director of Cittadellarte, Biella). A sixth member of the jury will be represented by the vote of the audience who will gather at the Van Abbemuseum for the event.

To take part in the event please make your reservation on the Van Abbemuseum website

The ten projects that will be assessed have been shortlisted among a list of 34 art projects nominated by the 2013 Visible advisory board and the 48 projects received, for the first time, through an open call. 
The ten shortlisted projects are:
Sammy BalojiKumbuka (Congo); Beta LocalFrom-­Tool‐to-­Tool! (Puerto Rico); Mabe BethonicoMuseum of Public Concerns (Brazil); Bophana Audiovisual Resource Center, One Dollar (Cambodia); Beatrice CatanzaroBait Al Karama, (Palestine); Fernando García ‐ DoryPaese Nuovo / New Country – Borgate (Italy); Inkanyiso (Zanele Muholi)Oui Twenty/20 (South Africa); Ahmet ÖgütThe Silent University (Turkey); The Propeller GroupChrist the King of Bling (Vietnam); RuangrupaThe Gerobak Bioskop (Cinema Cart) Network (Indonesia).
The long-listed projects will be made available on the Visible website www.visibleproject.org. The list features projects by the following artists and collectives: Arteam, Beyond Pressure (Moe Satt), Caminul Cultural, Futurefarmers, Thierry Geoffroy / Colonel, Marlon Griffith, Dor Guez, Honf . House of Natural Fibers, Suresh Kumar G, Iconoclasistas, Les Palettes du Kamer, Maha Maamoun and Ala Younis, Amina Menia, Mosireen, Maria Papadimitriou, Rafani collective, Rigo 23, Meir Tati, Temporary Occupations, Teatro de Operacoes, Bert Theis, Yeh Wei–]li, Siren Eun Young Jung, and Arseniy Zhilyaev. The Visible team would like to express its gratitude to all of them for sharing their work with our network.
The Visible Award
The Visible Award is an international production award of 25,000 euros devoted to art work in the social sphere that aims to produce innovative artistic projects that are able to become visible in fields other than the artistic one.
Programme of the 14th December 2013:
 10.00 a.m.  Welcome by Charles Esche Introduction of the jury and voting system
 10.30 a.m.   Introduction of the 10 shortlisted projects by Visible curators Matteo Lucchetti and Judith Wielander 
 1.30 p.m.  Lunch break
 3.00 p.m.  Statements from the jurors about socially engaged artistic practices, moderated by Charles Esche
 4.30 p.m  Summary of the 10 shortlisted project by Charles Esche
 5.00 p.m.  Jurors speak about the reasons why to vote for their chosen projects
 6.00 p.m.  Coffee break
 6.45 p.m.  Announcement of the Top 3, compiled by jurors / Q&A between the jurors and audience
 7.30 p.m.  Public vote
 8.30 p.m.  Drinks
 9.00 p.m.  Announcement of the winner of 2013 Visible Award by Michelangelo Pistoletto and Andrea Zegna
Van Abbemuseum
Bilderdijklaan 10, 5611 NH Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Further information about Visible:
The 2013 Visible Award public jury is supported by Cittadellarte-Fondazione Pistoletto, Fondazione Zegna, Van Abbemuseum – Eindhoven, and thanks to the generous contribution by Stichting Doen – The Netherlands.