UNIDEE – University of Ideas
“In 2015, UNIDEE – UNIVERSITY OF IDEAS, inheriting a long experience of residency for international artists (2000-2012), launched within the unique and special context of Cittadellarte – a research centre and an exhibition area – the experimentation of an educational prototype or ‘model’ that combined theory with practice, which bases the processes of learning on doing and discovery, favouring the exercising of imagination through a meeting with the differences and plurality of languages, and that responds to the desire and need to delve more deeply into things, phenomena and stories through relationships, dialogue and the exchanging of views of the participants. Through residential dynamics, UNIDEE sees education as a life experience and social process characterised by the particular cognitive and emotional intensity of the exchange by members of the spontaneous community that is formed each week within the module.”
Cecilia Guida (director and curator of 2015-2017 programme), excerpt from the Unidee Statement 2016

An open program based on weekly units, evolving as a public utility conceived as a constant reference for a growing community, where you can enrol designing your own personal tailor-made educational path through an on-line tool.

UNIDEE, through a program of intensive and specific weeks, trains “artivators” (activators of processes of social transformation through creative ideas and projects), a professional figure which brings together the characteristics and the skills of the artist, the curator, the entrepreneur and the social planner.The residency weeks will be open to practitioners, artists, scholars, curators, besides anyone interested in delving into specific themes related to artistic practices in the social sphere, developed by the mentors together with a multidisciplinary international group.

Weeks are led by experts suggesting a deep analysis of essential competences and aspects: from inter-subjectivity to commons and alternative economies, from responsibility and new technologies to architecture of the social space, implicities and complicities.



Manydee is a virtual platform to which UNIDEE residents are automatically registered in order to communicate ideas and information, to cooperate, to propose and discuss projects.
 
UNIDEE 2013
Ayed Arafah (Palestine) ayedarafah.portfoliobox.me
Carolina Rito (Portugal) carolinarito.com
Charles-Antoine Blais Métivier (Canada) charles-antoine.ca
Ilaria Biotti (Italy) ilariabiotti.com
Khaled Galaleldeen (Egypt) www.facebook.com/pages/Khaled-Galaledeen/
Marica Vitas (Croatia) vimeo.com/maricavitas
Muhammad Sohail Azad (Pakistan) vimeo.com/sohailazad
Olga Zhitlina (Russia) www.olgajitlina.net
Rabindra Patra (India) www.facebook.com/rabindra.patra
Richard Soriano Legaspi (Philippines) cycloneloopfilm.wordpress.com
Anastasia Ryabova (Russia ) nastyaryabova.com/
Luisa Ungar (Colombia) www.facebook.com/luisa.ungar UNIDEE 2012
Ayman Alazraq (Palestine) www.aymanalazraq.com
Lindsay Benedict (USA) www.lindsaybenedict.com
Angela Henderson (Canada)
Dina Karaman (Russia)
Karl Logge (Australia) www.makeshift.com.au
Hektor Mamet (Switzerland / Poland) www.hektormamet.com
Alecia Neo (Singapore) www.alecianeo.com
Marta Romani (Italy) melmartita.blogspot.it
Shah Zaman (Pakistan) www.shahzamanbaloch.com
Meghna Singh (India) www.meghnasingh.com UNIDEE 2011
Aastha Chauhan (India)
Ángel Masip (Spain)
Anna Acciarino (Italy)
Cai Weidong (Cina) caiweidong.com
Eduardo Cachucho (South Africa) efrcdesign.com
Ekaterina Kravtsova (Russia) www.craftsova.com
Elmas Deniz (Turkey) sites.google.com/site/elmasdeniz
Ibada Wadud (USA) ethos-diseno-blog.tumblr.com
Ibrahim Jawabreh (Palestine)
Karolina Rychlik (Poland)
Matthew Mazzotta (USA) matthewmazzotta.com
Nicoletta Daldanise (Italy) www.shareproart.net
Olga Karyakina (Russia)
Özgür Demirci (Turkey) www.ozgurdemirci.com
Raphael Franco (Brasil) raphaelfrancoart.wordpress.com UNIDEE 2010
Alexandrija Ajduković (Serbia) www.aleksandrijaajdukovic.blogspot.it
Alioum Moussa (Cameroon) alioummoussa.wordpress.com
Anna Moreno Castells (Spain) www.annamoreno.net
Arnaud Hollard (France)
Bora Petkova (Bulgaria)
Chiara Tinonin (Italy)
Davide Ligas (Italy)
Inass Yassin (Palestine) www.inassyassin.com
Juliana Mori De Oliveira (Brasil) www.julianamori.com
Kosta Tonev (Bulgaria) www.kostatonev.com
Maggie Lawson (USA)
Maria Jobelle Tayawa (Republic of Philippines)
Sara Hany Mohamed Abed (Egypt)
Veronica Tzekova (Bulgaria) UNIDEE 2009
Asiya Wadud (USA) forageoakland.blogspot.it
Bona Park (South Korea) www.bonapark.co.uk
Camille de Galbert (France) www.camilledegalbert.com
Cecilia Guida (Italy)
David Behar-Perahia (Israel) www.davidbehar.net
Diego Bonetto (Italy) diegobonetto.com
Diego del Pozo Barriuso (Spain)
Hani Amra (Palestine) www.haniamra.com
Julia Staniszewska (Poland)
Marcela Ceballos Gonzales (Colombia)
Natalia Gil Medina (Colombia)
Saioa Olmo Alonso (Spain) www.ideatomics.com
Sumakshi Singh (India) www.sumakshi.com
Yana Kostova (Bulgaria) UNIDEE 2008
Yael Bar-On
Biljana Ciric
Yolanda De los Bueis www.spyoy.com
Manuela Macco www.manuelamacco.com
Ahmad Malki www.idiomsfilm.com
Elisa Marchesini www.elisamarchesini.com
Pavlina Mladenova
Josefina Posch www.josefinaposch.com
Christoph Schwarz www.christophschwarz.net
Marko Stamenkovic
Sakiko Sugawa http://hanareproject.net
Nidhi Sundram
Daniel Alejandro Urrea Peña
Yulia Usova http://yuliausova.blogspot.it
Sarah Vanhee www.sarahvanhee.com
Flávia Vieira UNIDEE 2007
Rei Dishon www.agora-gallery.com/artistpage/rei_dishon
Wafaa Yasin
Chelsea Knight www.chelseaknight.com
Ika Peraic www.freelanced.com/ika_a
Juan Pablo Jimenez Carvajal
Marthe Van Dessel www.ooooo.be
Lieven Paelinck
Andres Torca
Nerita Oeiras http://kuaishen.tv/nerita
Jason Waite
Fiona Whitty www.fionawhitty.com
Rotimi Batatunde
Francesca Montà
Sakshi Guptà
Vicentiu Gârbăcea http://vimeo.com/vicentiugarbacea
Zofia Wollny
Natalia Pershina http://factoryoffoundclothes.org UNIDEE 2006
Qiu Jun
Paula Andrea Rengifo Valencia
Nataša Perković
Tehila Lapidot
Antonella Alunni
Raouf Haj-Yihya
Ajay Kumar Tiwari
Rakhi Peswani www.guildindia.com/RakhiPeswani
Liron Shua www.lironshua.com
Katia Meneghini http://katiameneghini.com
Christian Niccoli www.christianniccoli.com
Julieta Aranda
Nazgol Ansarinia
Francesco Perratone
Andy Abbott http://andyabbott.co.uk & Yvonne Carmichael www.yvonnecarmichael.com UNIDEE 2005
Saϊd Aϊt El Moumen
Aziz Čeho
Eunji Cho www.akive.org
Gayle Chong Kwan http://gaylechongkwan.com
Vered Dror
Michele Fontana
Shadi Habib Allah
Ke Jipeng
Dejan Kaludjerović
Eden Morfaux
Victor Andrés Muñoz Martínez
Andrea Paoletti
Sigrid Pawelke
Enza Reina http://iorejna.blogspot.it
Esther Ribot Cabarrocas UNIDEE 2004
Isabel Andreu Roglá
ts Beall www.stillstatic.tv
Mary Bellamy
Beatrice Catanzaro www.comune.bologna.it
Rafram Chaddad
Daniel Cuberta Touzón www.danielcuberta.com
Pratul Kumar Dash
Matteo Ferrario
Tania Goloviznina
Ishan Gosh
Will Kwan
Walid Maw’ed
Alfredo Luís Vásquez Elorza
Sarah Rifky http://d13.documenta.de
Alejandro Vásquez Salinas http://portafolioalejandrovasquez.blogspot.it
Margarita Vazquez Ponte http://margavp.wordpress.com
Peter Verwimp
Çagil Yurdakul UNIDEE 2003
Iman Abou Hmid
Vaibhav Bhawsar www.recombine.net
Jean Charles Boilevin http://aaars.free.fr/html/cvars/boilevinCV
Ryan Doolan
Oier Etxeberria
André Guedes
Hannah Hewetson www.hannahhewetson.com
Ayumi Minemura
Michal Oren
Chiara Pirito www.chiarapirito.com
Kai Takeda
Rufus Willis UNIDEE 2002
Anas Al-Aili
David Cañavate Cazorla www.despachodepan.com
Cutler Joe www.joecutler.com
Enslein Ulrike Brigitte
Kameli Katia www.katiakameli.com
Marzabal Galano Miquel www.blogger.com/profile/11025623738598426160
Meshulam Liron
Modrinjak Matej
Paes Leão Daniela www.dpl.nu
Scaria Gigimon
Sousa Cardoso João
Solè Coromina Laia
Raphaëlle de Groot www.raphaelledegroot.net
Bryan Davies & Laura Quarmby www.bryanandlauradavies.com
Aya Iguchi
Steve Duval www.stevenduval.com UNIDEE 2001
Chung Haessen
Agustin Parra Grondona
Natalia Restrepo
Brigitte Zerle
Ulrike Kohnen-Zülzer
Raphaële Maffesoli
Charlie Jeffery http://charliejefferyunderconstruction.blogspot.it
Consol Rodríguez www.consolrodriguez.info
Dafna Moscati
Temsyanger Longkumer
Oscar Vargas Hernandez
Dirk Vogel www.dirkvogel.com
Maria Joao Calisto
Cameron Sinclair http://cameronsinclair.com
Markus Weber www.markusweber.com.au UNIDEE 2000 
Biju Joze www.gallerysoulflower.com/AI-104-Biju-Joze
Leopold Kessler http://leopoldkessler.net
Thomas Dale
Gloria Safont-Tria
Jaume Parera Casals
Esther Knoblich & Steffen Wolfrum
Armin Mobasseri http://arminmobasseri.com
Benoît Roussel
Yoav Weiss www.yoav-weiss.com
Juan E. Sandoval
Natasha Janković
UNIDEE 1999
Gunter Anderlik
Tal Adler http://memscreen.info
Rotem Balva
Laurent Barnavon
Olivier Feraud www.kalerne.net/olivierferaud
Sophie Fougy
Fabrice Gallis
Simone Girault
Lyn Lowenstein www.lyn.lowenstein.eu
Peter Lütje
Masahiro & Fumijo Morigouchi
Astrid Nippoldt www.astridnippoldt.de
Judith Pichlmueller
Tania Ristovski
Bojan Sarcevic www.bojansarcevic.net
Thomas Seidemann
Naomi West
Maria Wimmer
Haegue Yang www.heikejung.de
Akiyoshidai International Art Village http://aiav.jp
Others:
Michael Blum (Rijksakademie 2001), Suwan Laimanee, Cees Krijnen, Martin Koppenhöfer, Ives Maes, Paolo Angelosanto, COPA & SORDES: Birgit Krueger & Eric Schmutz Krueger, Noraset Vaisayakul (Rijksakademie 2004).
UNIDEE has built a large network of partnerships and collaborations in Italy and abroad:

A.M. QATTAN FOUNDATION based in Ramallah, it's one of the most longstanding partner of Cittadellarte, they provide a UNIDEE grant for Palestinian Artist since 2002 AS_TIDE NETWORKS supported by the European Union, As_Tide is a project that aims at constituting a European network of cultural centres and operators dedicated to intercultural dialogue and socio-economical development,to analyse and promote the sense of collective identity through different cultures in Europe.
In 2008 and 2009, four participants in As_Tide will be also residents at Unidee.
 
BRYAN AND LAURA DAVIES space and project developed by former resident Bryan Davies and his sweet wife Laura Quarmby in Leeds, UK.
CASTELLO DI RIVOLI Contemporary Art Museum. They have always supported the activity of UNIDEE and Massimo Melotti, head of the Press Office, is part of the UNIDEE jury and experts panel.
 
FONDAZIONE ZEGNA based in Biella, the Foundation has supported UNIDEE since 2000 establishing Scholarship grants for residents coming from South America and China.
In 2007 Matteo Ferrario and Margarita Vazquez Ponte (UNIDEE 2004) delevoped and realised Casa Zegna, archive and cultural centre of the company.
 
HANGARDefinitely the most longstanding partner of UNIDEE. They have provided a scholarship grant for Spanish artist since 2000 and are now partner in As_Tide
 
LUISS UNIVERSITY one of the most succesful university campuses in Italy (Rome), they offer an innovative learning model. The General Director, Mr. Pier Luigi Celli, expert in communication and business organisation, is one of UNIDEE's experts.
 
NEXT KUNST Partner of As_Tide and becoming a partner of UNIDEE, providing a grant for an Austria-based resident. We met Louise Kloos during a Nurope oasis.
 
PEPINIERES EUROPEENNES POUR JEUNES ARTISTES for 15 years, the Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes has had the mission of promoting the emergence and the mobility of young artists on a worldwide scale.
UNIDEE is part of their network and Cittadellarte is member of the Board of Directors.
 
ST. JAMES CAVALIER Partner of As_Tide and becoming a partner of UNIDEE, providing a grant for a Malta-based resident.
 
IFPC UNESCO-ASCHBERG The UNESCO-Aschberg Bursaries for Artists offers a scholarship grant to an artist from Asia, Africa or Latin America to enable them to engage in an intercultural dialogue and expose them to cultural diversity.
 
UNICREDIT GROUP is one of the largest banking and financial services organisations in Europe.
Since 2005 they have supported UNIDEE with Scholarship grants dedicated to creative people from Eastern Europe.
 
WWW.YOAV-WEISS.COM This is the web site of Yoav Weiss, Israeli artist that was in Residence in 2001.
 
Info:
UNIDEE - University of Ideas 
Cittadellarte-Fondazione Pistoletto
Via Serralunga, 27 
13900 Biella - Italy
Tel. +39 015 0991 462 
unidee@cittadellarte.it